Some serious eye rolling material (there she goes again)

Yup, Gluten Free.  I love experimenting.  As Marj says…..it’s a science project.  We love those.

Image

Doesn’t this look like a lab?  That’s the big problem with baking GF, you have to have so many different things; it’s time consuming to amass. 

First up…..Hazelnut & Apricot Muffins

Image

Smaller than I normally make but plenty smenty.  I made these because I found this site: http://glutenfreegirl.com   They do everything by weight, grams.  It’s fun and she has this terrific whole grain flour mix that is multipurpose.  For a large batch I combined:

100 grams Almond flour

100 sorghum flour

200 brown rice flour

100 garbanzo flour

130 teff flour

70  corn flour

Which totaled 700 grams then added:

150 grams tapioca flour

150 g. arrowroot

See what I mean….it’s a lot of stuff to have on hand.   But, I made a large canning jar full then used it for these muffins which no kidding, best I have ever tasted.  They actually TASTE which usually you rely on whatever is in it to give you the good flavor with this mix it’s the mix that’s good.  Hard to explain. 

The next day I made homemade tortillas with the same mix; 280 grams worth and 1 tsp. baking powder, 1 tsp. salt, 2 Tbs. butter and 1/2 C. warm water.

Image

Image

These fold up beautifully with some plain old salsa inside.  Paul had scrambled eggs in his.  He complained but that was ONLY because I let slip they were GF.  Dork.

Well, off he went to Arkansas on Friday to move a boat….yup, move a boat.  One of those divorce situations where the wife, who got the property and house, but not the boat the husband was restoring. She had to let the old man back on the property for two days to move the boat off.  He needed a quick heavy hitter boat guy like Paul and his friend Vince Todd to build a cradle, get it on a trailer and off….in one day.  They did it, today they are setting it up in it’s new spot.  Safe and sound. Funny, I guess about 20 Harley guys came to help also as the Sheriff, a lawyer and deputies where there because of her.  How many were packing?????  I’d say all of them.  The X wife has three real wolves as pets – Paul was worried about them attacking (the wife is crazy)  but with all those there, no worries mate!  Home tonight.  Well, happily with this breather from critical analysis I baked all day yesterday.

Bananas & Coconut were calling me….

Image

Crazy good.  Really crazy.  Crispy, sweet, crunchy crust, nice rise, full of huge flavor.  Boy has Gluten Free come a long way!!!!  In just a year, really.  I got this recipe from GF in the City  http;//www.gfinthecity.com  great recipes on there.  I couldn’t believe how light and fluffy this came out.  I doubled the recipe but only used three bananas squishing them with my hand as I like chunks not mushed.  I put large flaked coconut from Bob’s mill in, maybe a cup or more, lots.  This one is made with sorghum, almond, potato starch, xanthan gum, baking soda, baking powder, salt, coconut oil (instead of butter), 1/2 C. sugar, 2 eggs. fini

When done or actually while baking I made up some rolls,  again from GF girl’s site…Whole grain bread/rolls.  She suggests making rolls so I did.  Interesting project:

Image

You start this with a slurry of flaxseed meal, chia seeds and hot water.  Then there is a yeast, sugar water slurry.  The flour part is:

100 grams oat flour

100 grams almond flour

100 grams teff

85 grams potato starch

85 grams arrowroot powder

70 grams buckwheat flour (quick trip to the health food store for this one)

30 grams dried milk powder, geech who has that

2 tsp. salt

2 eggs

2 Tbs. apple cider vinegar

Lots of stuff but easy to put together, very moist.  I made it in a mixer, rolled it into a oiled bowl and let rise two hours.  Then I preheated the oven to 450 with a stone.  By hand, wet hands, cut and rolled 8 rolls, placed on the hot stone and baked not very long, just till internal temp 180.  As soon as I pulled them out I ran a pat of butter over the tops.

Well, I had one with tea around 3 then another with my friend Natalia who dropped in with cheese and wine around 8.  Way to go!  I love this single eating style.  I bet I would be thinner if I ate or not when I wanted to instead of keeping up with Paul and his food timings….three times a day w/endless snacks.  Different metabolism than mine, that’s for sure.

And just because my blog refers to fiber:

Image

This is a wicked close up of a tiny 9.5″ swatch of fiber I’m weaving as a table runner for the wooden kitchen apartment.  The beige is linen, the blues are cotton.  I haven’t done anything on it for days as besides the cooking I’ve been making dresses.  I found a book of “modern” sewing with a perfect dress for my round body…..it’s an A line with just darts (of course) and overlapped shoulder straps so you just flip it over your head, your done getting dressed.  I think I’ll put a pocket on them today for my keys or glasses.  Nice cotton fabric, summery, one is green with tiny black & white circles the other are blues……kaffee fassett stuff.  I’m heading to Florida on Tuesday for a week to make sure our boat is floating and it’s hot down there….85 this week.  The dresses will be perfect!

Back when I’m home with probably funny stories.  My brother is meeting me in Acadia, Florida on Wednesday which is half way through the state in the middle of absolutely no where.  The clue that it should be funny….we’re meeting for lunch at The Nav I Gator.  omg

Leave a Reply

