The high light of my week…..I had a great Skype call with my little girls.  Colbie (5) was all ready; she had her mothers necklace on, dressed up, books chosen (6 of them).  We were going to read to each other.  She knows most of her books by heart so she likes to tell the story to me but this time she wanted me to read them.  That was funny and complicated.  Getting the book held up to the camera, not too close, level so I could see the words, etc. was a process.  Her sister, Zoe (3) was full of beans, in and out, crawling over and under, pressed up against the screen and really more interested in her nose than anything else.  What’s with these kids and their noses at that age.  Yuck.  It’s amazing to me, these girls live 3,000 miles away and yet with Skype we’re so close I can almost kiss them.  We do a lot of screen kissing hello and goodby….sad that I can’t hold them.  It’s bittersweet seeing them.

This picture was taken while she was telling me a story.  Pinoccio I suspect.

Image

Zoe, as I said, was in and out.

Image

Paul and I went to the beach in the morning…yes, this picture was taken in the morning about 8:30 a.m.  What the heck?

Image

Yesterday I was thinking we needed something fruity for our morning coffee at 5:30 a.m. – that old toast gets kind of old, sometimes it’s butter, sometimes almond butter, sometimes cottage cheese but after a week; give me something else please.

Standard Baking Book came to the rescue with a fruit buckle that I made into muffins.  It’s pretty awesome as it’s really just a CAKE with a bit of fruit on top.  I’ve cut the sugar quite a bit and you can hardly tell. 

Image2 C. Cake flour, not unbleached as this cake flour gives it a cake like density yet light.

2- 1/4 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. salt

1 stick unsalted butter, melted

1/2 C. sugar

2 Eggs

2 tsp. almond extract, could be any kind

1 C. buttermilk or almond milkPreheat to 350.
Sift your dry together.  Mix the wet in a mixer till creamy, add the flour & milk alternatively.  Put a large scoop in your muffin tin – makes about 12.

Chop up whatever fruit you have around – I had pears & frozen blueberriesadd a bit of sugar and zest lemon peel and a bit of flour. 

Spoon the fruit mixture over the top and bake.  Nice break from muffins and moving more into the cake world which we all love.

Yesterday afternoon, in between this and that, I got a cottolin warp on the loom and started weaving.  It’s going to be many, many dishtowels.  It’s kind of boring in that the body of the towel is a navy blue twill but 3″ from the border in the beginning and end I am doing some colorful stuff for about 3″ so it should hold my interest.  You’ll never believe what color I worked with on the trim last night???? Yup. Blues/greens/turquoise.

More weaving today and perhaps this past weeks filming of Downton Abby.  I have to watch it on a laptop as we don’t have cable but I’m good with that.  Love it.

Leave a Reply

