A bit of food and a bit of fiber interest

First the food!  Always.  Paul is forever talking about snitzel; he’s a german guy.  With a name like Eitel go figure.  We had to go up to Portland the other night so my little tiny brain fired off a memory of reading a review of a German Restaurant.  After futzing with Yelp and Bing I called Ruth to find out how to find Google on my I-Phone.  You would think I was back in the 1800’s with the lack of technological expertise that I have.  Anyhow, got it squared away, found the restaurant and headed up……….

Oh my goodness….to die for!  This place is awesome.  You bring your own beverage so I brought a zip loc with a block of ice and two dark Beck’s (getting in the spirit).  We had everything we wanted, first in the door at 5 p.m. which means place to ourselves for an hour, perfect.  We started with Potato pancakes with applesauce & sour cream.  These potatoes were so amazingly smooth.  Paul had Pea soup.  Fresh bread with grains – ah, ha, the same recipe as I have been making which was from 101 site…..they used caraway and flax in theirs, I use walnuts and sesame seeds.  Same bread though.  Nice.  For dinner I had a pan seared spatzel – think mac & cheese flipped over in a skillet.  Paul had his snitzel and a cold potato salad (with oil & vinegar).  I had a cucumber/dill/vinegar salad.  Sad, we had that on the table at home just about every night, that and a bowl of cucumbers and a glass filled with scallions.  My mothers idea of salad every day.  What a memory!  It was truly fantastic.  We shared dessert which was a Gingerbread/Molasses square piece of cake with a dusting of powdered sugar and a Squash Compote (very nice, sweet) and whipped cream, two mugs of chamomile Tea.  All to the tune of $46.00  It’s a small place in kind of a weird spot…….Cumberland Street with Brown Street intersecting across which goes up to Congress Street.  If you live anywhere around here you should be traveling there!  Fresh Food.  Nothing fancy, nice people, real people.

A bit of knitting, again.  I found a pattern, sort of, it’s actually just a method for cables; I made my own sizing, etc.  It’s going to be a combination head band and neck band.  I’m thinking I’ll put a few large buttons on it and a loop on the other side then I can adjust it for how I’ll wear it.  The yarn is hand dyed from String Theory in Blue Hill.  We keep our boat up near there and every time I drive by on my way to and from I stop at their shop.  Wall to wall hand dyed wools – the colors blow me away.

I like both sides of this project.

We had beans the other night as I spoke about before, and hot dogs and Sour Kraut (still making it) so I thought we should have some yummy cheese biscuits.

These are ready to go in the oven.  I have posted this recipe before, I believe, but for my friend Ann who wants to make these, here you go!

Baking Powder Biscuits called Grandmother’s Southern biscuits from Bernard Clayton’s New Complete Book of Breads……if you see this book at a yard sale, get it.  Everything you could ever want to make is in this book.  I make these, the dog biscuits, the Stollen and lots of other things all the time.  Actually, while flipping through this is where the original recipe came from for my Blueberry Muffins we served at the cafe.

2 C. flour

1 tsp. salt

1 Tbs. sugar

4 tsp. baking powder

1/3 C. butter, cut in chunks  (you can use crisco)

1 C. buttermilk (you can use any kind of milk, almond, rice, plain)

I sift everything together (after I set the oven at 500) then with my hands mix in the butter, squishing the lumps smaller, add the milk last with a fork.  When still not together plop out on board and carefully, but quickly, push it together into a flat circle ……pat, pat, pat sides and top until it is in an either circle or rectangle (which is what I do).  Cut them, put them on parchment and bake.  All this is fast work.  For cheese I just throw some in, usually we have them plain.  They bake quickly, like 10 minutes.  An added bonus when you make them…….the next day, cut them in half, dry pan saute and put poached eggs on top.  Really wonderful.

I’ve revised the Coffee Cake recipe from a few weeks ago.  This came out of Saveur October 2012.  originally I made it as it, followed the recipe but it was too sweet with waaaay too much sugar on top.  So, here it is more palatable, at least for us.

Make the topping:

3/4 C. flour

1/4 C. sugar

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. nutmeg

1/2 tsp. powder

1/4 tsp. salt

1 stick unsalted butter, cubed

1 C. toasted almonds

Do the usual, mix the dry, crumble the butter with your hands, add the almonds last, set aside.

The Cake:

1 stick unsalted butter, melted

2 C. flour

1 Tbs. powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1/4 C. sugar

1 tsp. vanilla

1 egg

2/3 C. buttermilk

3 pears in chunks.   This I put on top of the cake before the topping went on.

This is pretty much the same except less sugar.  Put the butter in a bowl, add the rest that has been sifted together then add your vanilla (or almond extract), egg and milk stirring with a whisk.

Crumble the top on, bake at 350 for 40 minutes.  The trick to this cake is to bake it in a larger pan.  I used a 9×13 to get it thin enough.  It is darn good.

It’s a beautiful day out….gotta go.  ciao

 

One thought on “A bit of food and a bit of fiber interest

  1. carlarollins says:

    Oops, that would be PORTLAND, MAINE for that German Restaurant.

Leave a Reply

