Beautiful Weather!

It is so gorgeous out.  I love it.  Thank god summer has passed.  I’m thinking it was waaaay too long this year, enough of that hot stuff.  This is the first time I gladly put away the pool things.  We dropped the water level, covered it with tarp and hung the usual classic water bottles from the sides which I’m not sure why we do that every year.  We always end up with leaves and crap in the bottom when we uncover because the plastic collects it and then when you pull it off it dumps in.  Yes, we should use a pump to siphon off the deep dish of water that collects but then we would need a generator of some sorts to get that going.  Never mind.

A new Saveur arrived with all sorts of old recipes and easy too.  The first thing I had to try was:

Yup. Chocolate Egg Cream.  I had a tummy ache after I drank this.  I used to drink these after school but as I remember only one, they really are filling.  1/2 C. Cold Milk, 1-1/4 C. Seltzer water, 2 Tbs. chocolate syrup.  Ruth had left some mint chocolate stuff for ice cream – that’s what I used.
I also made the Coffee Cake recipe:

This is really good.  We used to call it New York Coffee Cake or Crumb Cake.  After church we’d always stop at the one and only Bakery in town, Oakland, New Jersey where we would get this cake and hard rolls.  Fabulous stuff.  They had all the usual, doughnuts, etc. but us Savage kids had to have the crumb stuff.

This is so simple.  I almost prefer just the bottom part but to be authentic the top has to be there.  We chopped most of it off, not being used to so much sugar.

The cake is:

1 stick of butter (melted)

2 C. Flour (could do with 1/2 whole wheat)

1 Tbs. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

3/4 C. sugar (might want to use less, it’s sweet)

1 tsp. vanilla (I forgot entirely but I would use almond instead)

1 egg

2/3 C. Milk (I used buttermilk)

Hand mix with a whisk, pour in a greased 8″ pan.

Cover the top with:

1-1/2 C. flour (I would cut this in half)

3/4 C. sugar (again half)

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1 stick butter diced small

1/2 C. walnuts (I used almonds) (at least one cup)

This past week I harvested my three year garlic.  Each year I plant the bulbs over and over and each year score larger and larger bulbs.  Many varieties in this box.  This sits on our enclosed porch all winter – we usually run out about now each year.

After cleaning up the gardens I found all sorts of stuff, hiding.  So I made a wonderful vegetable soup with this and that including some of this garlic.  I found some broccoli, some red peppers, tomatoes, red cabbage, eggplant, carrots – all little bits and lots of herbs.  For the past few days I’ve been experimenting with breads with cultures. Biga’s, Poolish….all sorts of names, all do the same thing….just a starter.  I have one that’s close now to becoming a European style loaf – big, airy holes in the bread with a crusty finish, I hope.  I made a many seeded one yesterday and a 100% whole wheat one the day before that actually came out very airy.  Nice with the bread.  I have to stop now we have too much, in house.

While baking I made an apple pie – first of the season this year.

Saturday was York Farmers Market day so I went and picked up these tiny, hand picked cranberries – first of the season for me.  I cooked them down for a bit then added them to this pie with a bit of the sour juice and saved the rest for applesauce.  Lovely color!

While sitting on the porch yesterday waiting for something to finish baking….bread? pie? I was feeling nostalgic about summer past.  It was so pretty under my (what else?) turquoise umbrella.

I always put this away last.  If I could fit it in my small house somewhere, opened, I would for the whole winter.  It’s such a happy feeling.

 

One thought on “Beautiful Weather!

  1. Went right out and bought Saveur. It will be next years cooking mag I think. The weather HAS been glorious, energizing! We used to get “Jewish Coffee Cake,” after church of course, with walnuts and spice.

Leave a Reply

