Summertime Flurry of Activity

Twice I have posted and lost some important stuff!  Clearly, it must be me.  I’d like to at least get this recipe out as I’ve made it just about every other day now for the past week.  It is awesome.  It’s a simple bread from 101’s site.  I’ve changed it by adding lots of sesame seeds.  This morning we had it as toast with my own yogurt cheese and a dribble of honey.  Who could ask for anything better at 5:30 a.m.?

101’s Simple Bread

1-1/4 C. Warm Water

2 tsp. yeast

1 tsp. honey

1 C. unbleached flour

1 C. whole wheat flour

1 C. oats

1.5 tsp. Salt

That’s it.  Let the warm water, yeast & honey sit for a minute.  Add the dry.  It will be wet.  Spatula out into a buttered or oiled bread pan. Sprinkle generously with Sesame Seeds.  Cover with a damp cloth and let rise an hour or so.  Bake at 375 for about 45 minutes.

It makes the best toast!  Kept in the fridge it last just a few days but it’s so small you’ll eat it all right away anyway.

I haven’t taken a picture of it but I did grill it and serve with a burger on top the other night.

Those are our raspberries.  Boy, do we have a ton this year, again……There may be two varieties out there as these don’t have any seeds and last year I recall quite a few.  And yes, that is lemon verbena and arugula mixed in the green bean salad.

The fruit & vege. drink mid morning has changed recently.  I’m now adding some homemade yogurt and fresh herbs on top – it’s so tasty with basil!

One of my favorite people came by the other day.  Kathy Connolly.  She is married to “lettuce Man” Bill who sells organic vegetables at the York Farmer’s Market.  Bill and I go waaaaaay back.  We used to sell near each other back when the market first started.  I did pastries – that was back when you could display with beautiful table cloths, open air on pedestals, etc.  I had 4 card tables all under an umbrella with my pretty assorted french cloths….selling out of the back of my Van.  Bill and I had this thing going where it was a race to see who sold out first!  Sometimes we’d be so low by 10 a.m.  It was awesome.  In fact the “being” of the Cafe was due to the Farmer’s Market.  We all watched each others children grow up there.  Life was much simpler!  Anyway, Kathy brought by a gift – a huge box of produce.  Amazing.  Thank you Kathy Bordeleau/Connolly.

Our granddaughters and family are due today – I’ve been making popsicles among a zillion other things.  Recipe next time but just look at how cute these are.

Fresh Mint Pudding Pops with Milk Chocolate Chips….saw the recipe in WSJ yesterday.  Great way to get rid of a lot of mint, eat chocolate and put the fat on!  oh well.

Gotta go, there are about 100 things I want to make for my family.  I wish I could pace myself but darn it I want to make them all and that is right now.  Have a great day, I will.  ta ta

 

Leave a Reply

