Open House & Summery Foods

How about that!  I have a “fairy” that realizes “copy” is not my thing.  Yesterday I sent a very boring Invite to the above via e-mail and this is what she sent back to me.  Thank you Marlene.  Again.

So, come one, come all……I have so many food ideas in my head.  I’ve been catering three jobs in the past week – go figure, it’s been the hottest of the year also.  93 degrees the day before yesterday.  I took Luna off to be shaved at the dog store.  Funny, they have never shaved a Lab before – #7 blade, that’s all it is.  This is the third or fourth time she’s been shaved; once a year about now.  I started doing it because she is just so darn hot and I’m so bad about brushing she has this nappiness to her hair and seems wicked hot to me.

Image

she’s a happier camper now!  She will not go in the pool though (I know she wants to and I’ve encouraged her).  A visitor threw her in one night and freaked her out – that was all it took – no way will she go in.  Poor thing.  I’ve been really happy to have the pool.  All week I’ve been working on food in my bathing suit, jumping in, working in the kitchen, jumping in, back in the kitchen, on and on.  It’s been great.  I’ve gotten over the whole suit thing and don’t care who sees me now – I’m cool.  Although, it has been quiet and no one has been around.  Perhaps that’s the confidence builder.

Too hot to eat….I made what is called a Blueberry Colada Smoothie the other morning – taken from July Herb Companion:

Image

It was just so delicious I had to quick snap this picture of the remains we were drinking it down so fast.  Was it just too hot out?  Or was this just one fabulous flavor?  Amazing.

Pop in your blender:

1 C. Ice

2 Cups Strawberries with a squeeze of Agave

Large hand full of blueberries

1/2 C. coconut milk

1/2 C. orange juice

1 Banana

I changed the original recipe – they called for just blueberries & used pineapple juice, etc. but I went with what I had.  Very refreshing and cold, cold, cold.  The coconut milk adds a creaminess to it, very nice, good fat for you, etc.

Yesterday, in between baking cake and making Gazpacho I made a potato salad.  I was disappointed at first as the potatoes were organic yellow ones that seemed grainy, mushy.  The texture was “off” when I put it together but after sitting all afternoon chilling it sucked up the flavors and became awesome. Not mealy at all.

Image

The part that is, to me, unique is I used Lemon Verbena in it.  Lots!!!  It has the usual suspects…..boiled eggs, celery, wine vinegar, red onion, s&p, parsley, mayo. but then tossing in all that verbena took it to new heights.  The best yet, I would say.  So, thank you Ann Beattie for finding the Verbena for me.  I was searching everywhere with no luck – Ann popped in a couple of days after my lament with three or four plants she found at the Portsmouth Farmers Market.  Nice.

Not to bore you too much (with my Sally/Housewife tips) but while cruising through the Herb Companion I came across a cleaning liquid you make with lavender – perfect, I had all the ingredients and was getting tired of my Lemon/Vinegar cleaner.  This stuff is awesome and smells great.  Makes the sinks shiny, clean.

In a 16 oz. spray bottle:

2 Tbs. white vinegar

1 tsp. borax

Fill the bottle 3/4 full with hot water and shake well, add:

1/4 C. Lavender Castile soap (Dr. Bronners)

10 drops lavender essential oil

1 tsp. lemon juice

That’s it.  Borax you ask….I finally found it at the hardware store, Annie’s at York Corner.  I was looking for something non-toxic, industrial strength to add to my cosmic laundry detergent.  It works – I dump a scoop in to all the laundry now as a booster rather than use that Tide or whatever that stinks anyway.

O.K. off to cook a ton of shrimp and marinate in a wonderful herby, olive oil, red & yellow peppers  concoction I use from the Silver Palate to go with crusty french bread rounds for tonights event.  Geech I’m tired already.

Leave a Reply

